Skip to main content
Tulane Home Tulane Home

Celebrating Leadership — A Symposium in Honor of Eamon Kelly

Uptown Campus
Dixon Hall

8 a.m. Continental Breakfast

  • Dixon Hall, Room 118

9 a.m. Welcome Remarks

  • Mike Fitts, President, Tulane University

9:15 a.m. Session One: University Leadership

Chair: Charles B. Knapp, President Emeritus, University of Georgia


  • Yvette Jones, President/Owner, the Jones Group
  • Martin D. Payson, Fmr. President, Warner Communications, Emeritus Member, Board of Tulane
  • Larry Powell, Professor Emeritus of History, Tulane University

10:45 a.m. Session Two: International Leadership

Chair: William E. Bertrand, Wisner Chair of Public Health, Tulane University


  • Gilbert Bukenya, Professor and Physician, Makerere University School of Medicine
  • Manuel Carballo, Executive Director, Intl. Centre for Migration, Health & Development
  • Patrick Kayembe, Professor, Kinshasa School of Public Health
  • Emile Okitolonda, Dean, Kinshasa School of Public Health
  • Mary Page, Fmr. Director of Human Rights and Intl. Justice, MacArthur Foundation
  • Allan Rock, Fmr. President and Vice-Chancellor, University of Ottawa

Noon Break for Lunch

Boxed lunches available for symposium guests in Dixon Hall, Room 118

1 p.m. Session Three: Legacy of Leadership

Chair: Ronald J. Mason, President, University of the District of Columbia


  • Ruben Arminana, President Emeritus, Sonoma State University
  • Margee Ensign, President, Dickinson College
  • Ann Die Hasselmo, President Emerita, American Academic Leadership Institute

2:30 p.m. Session Four: Summary


William E. Bertrand Charles B. Knapp Ronald J. Mason

3:30 p.m. Closing Reception

Dixon Hall, Room 118

Tulane University

For more information contact: by phone at 504-314-7382
For more information on this event, please visit